

South African Radio League

Amateur Radio Hall of Fame

Dennis Anthony Green, ZS4BS Inducted in 2017

Dennis was born in Oudtshoorn in 1956. After matriculating from Grey College in Bloemfontein in 1974, he joined the South African Defence Force. He retired from the SANDF in 2016 after more than 41 years of service. He joined the SARL's Bloemfontein Branch in 1989 and was licenced as ZR4BS in 1989 and ZS4BS in 1991. He also holds 7P8DG in Lesotho.

Dennis served as member, secretary, vice chairman and chairman of the Bloemfontein Branch of the SARL from 1989 to 2009. When the Branch System was abolished, he became the first chairman of the Bloemfontein Amateur Radio Club. Dennis has been editor of the Club Newsletter, QUA, for many years.

Dennis joined the Council of the SARL as HF Manager (1999 to 2009). As Contest Manager (2001 to 2009), Dennis introduced the Top Band QSO Party and the ZS3 and ZS4 Sprints. He was IARU Liaison to April 2015. He was the SARL Vice President in 2003, 2008 and 2009 and President of the League in 2010 and 2011.

In 2002, Dennis started a weekly HF Newsletter called HF Happenings. He has been a part of the SARL News team for many years – compiling and recording the weekly bulletins. In addition, provides a weekly HF audio item for AR Today. Dennis has been Editor of Radio ZS from 2003 to date.

Dennis represented the SARL at the 1999, 2005 and 2008 Region 1 General Conferences of the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU). At the 2008 Region 1 Conference, Dennis was elected to the Executive Committee and Region 1 Secretary. He looks after the day-to-day activities of IARU Region 1, liaison with Member Societies and with Regions 2 and 3. He arranges the annual management meeting and the tri-annual General Conferences, where he is the Conference Secretary. Dennis brought this Conference to Sun City in 2011. Dennis's third and final term of office ends this year. He has also served on the Administrative Council of the

PLOID SCOUTING

IARU.

Dennis was part of the ZS9X Contest Team, which achieved good results in many CQ WW DX and CQ WPX contests. He enjoys Summits on the Air and operating portable. He is working to establish South African activity for World Wide Flora and Fauna, a movement that promotes amateur radio activity in a natural setting.



Dennis was awarded the SARL's Jack Twine Merit Award in 2003, the Willy Wilson Gold Badge in 2007 and Honorary Life Membership in 2012. He was the NSN Radio Amateur of the Year for 2009.

Dennis achieved the Springbok Scout Badge in 1973. As an adult leader in the Scout Movement, he was awarded the Medal of Merit and the 30-year bar to the Long Service Medal and is a 4 bead Wood Badge holder.

The National Defence Force awarded him the Pro Patria, Unitas, General Service, 10, 20 and 30 year Good Service Medals and his 40 year service medal is pending. He earned numerous certificates of commendation and two Chief of the Army Awards.

Dennis was the first serving SARL President to obtain a DXCC, the world's premiere DX award.

