## SARI ¥

## **South African Radio League**

## Amateur Radio Hall of Fame

## Chris Turner, ZS6GM Inducted in 2017

Chris Turner was born in 1952. He joined the SARL as ZS1-028 in 1966 and has remained a member, apart from a three-year break while living abroad in the 1980s. He was licenced as ZS1CG in 1970 and has held ZS6GM since 1985. He holds a diploma in radio engineering and is registered as an incorporated engineer in the UK. He has enjoyed mobile operation throughout his amateur career. He enjoys building his own equipment and antennas.

Chris is the CEO of the resurrected commercial radio station LM Radio which broadcasts from Mozambique and in South Africa from late 2016. Chris is active on the HF bands from his home in Hoedspruit and while mobile.

Chris was active in SA AMSAT in the early days and was part of the team that set up the packet radio system between Johannesburg and Durban. He is a keen home constructor. Several of his antenna designs have been commercialised. He is cited as sole or joint inventor on more than 32 US and international patents in the field of wireless and radio communications. Chris has served on SABS, British and ISO standards committees and was the author of the South African standard for radio site engineering. He served on the SABC EMC and Radio Communications committees between 1986 and 2000, ensuring that the voice of the Amateur Radio community was clearly heard.

Chris, together with Glynn Fogel, ZS6AKQ, lectured prospective radio amateurs at the Johannesburg Amateur Radio Centre and the Sandton Radio Club. They trained more than 100 new amateurs, including several who received the Arland Ussher Gold Pen award for the highest marks in the Radio Amateur Examination.

Chris served on the committees of the Johannesburg and Sandton amateur radio clubs and served as both Vice Chairman and Chairman of the Johannesburg Amateur Radio Centre. He served as a trustee of the South African Amateur Radio Development Trust for several years under the chairmanship of the late Dave Larsen, ZS6DN.

Chris was one of the three founding members of the Amateur Radio Mirror International team and served as a bulletin reader from 1986 to 2000.

Chris joined SARL Council in the Technology portfolio. He was Vice President for three years and President from 1996 to 1999. He attended several IARU international conventions. He assisted with the relocation of the SARL HQ from Cape Town and was one of the driving forces behind the establishment of the National Amateur Radio Centre in Johannesburg. Chris was an active member of the ICASA liaison group, chaired the EMC group and participated in the HF and VHF band planning committees.

In 2016, Chris was re-elected to the council of the SARL where he currently serves as the Vice President and has the portfolio of Communications.





Chris received the Jack Twine merit award in 1987. He received the Willy Wilson Gold Badge in 1994.

In 1999, Chris was the Radio Amateur of the Year to recognise his contribution to the development of Amateur Radio in South Africa

